Konmari It

The last three (?) posts, we’ve talked about staging your house, not for selling (though the principals still apply) but for staying in it and being happy in your surroundings. We’ve talked about the why  and where to start and today we’re going to talk about the most important step – decluttering; more specifically, the method I found in December that changed my life: The Konmari method.

In the past, I tried Flylady. I watched Neat and Clean Sweep religiously. I checked out every book the library ever had on decluttering. Nothing worked – or, at least, nothing worked for very long. Then I heard about The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo. In December, at my wit’s end and tired of spending all my time on earth cleaning up after my family, I picked up a copy and read it cover to cover.  I highly recommend this book.

For the sake of getting to the point, this is her basic method.

  1. Declutter by category – not by room. This means you find and declutter all the books at one time and all your craft supplies at one time and all your clothes at the same time…
  2. Hold every item one by one – as a natural declutterer, I found this unnecessary except for books. I struggled with books.
  3. While you’re holding that one item, think about the item and ask, “Does this bring me joy.” If the answer is, “no” then out it goes.
  4. Work from the easiest to declutter to the hardest. In the book it starts with clothes and moves through a specific order ending with pictures and sentimental items.

I’m telling you, it works. While I was working through my house I got rid of at least 10 yard-size trash bags – most of which went to charity. Remember, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure!

I’m splitting this into two posts: continue here.

Leave a Reply

